my car in reverse, and a whole bunch of rain, I am now rocking an old Nokia phone circa the 2000-2001 Powertel/Voicestream era.  In fact, I get to see the Powertel ‘P’ when I turn the phone on and then display ‘Voicestream’ as my carrier.  It brings back memories.   

I’m infinitely grateful to my mother who never throws anything away for providing me with a temporary phone, and lucky that I was able to find my cell phone in front of my driveway (I knew I’d lost it, I just didn’t know where).  I’m also really happy that the SIM card still works, which I was surprised at by the amount of heavy rain we got yesterday.  I was afraid I was going to have to create one of those annoying Facebook groups called “Rhonda backed over her cell phone and therefore needs everyone’s phone number.” 

While it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of a cell phone I’ve grown acustom to (no camera or full color display) its not all that bad. 

Pros of the Nokia 8260 :

-It has the obnoxious old school mono ring tones.  No more radio version multi-instrument songs for me.  I’m going to stand out in the crowd with the original ear piercing “Nokia tune.” 

-It has the original Snake game, which I never was able to fully master

-It’s kind of vintage, and I like vintagey things

-It’s not so vintage that its big and bulky like this:

-It’s durable, since I know my mom carried this phone for at least 5 years and it’s still going strong (I’m still going to try to avoid backing over it.)

-It’s a phone, plain and simple

Even though its not half bad, I will still miss my old Samsung phone for a couple of reasons.  One, it was a slide phone and I got it before slide phones became all the rage; and two, playing its ring tones (not mono, but not straight up radio songs) was the only way to call my cat.  Sounds weird, but he doesn’t answer to his name (even though he knows it), but would always come running anytime I played my cell phone’s ring tones. 

But if those are my biggest inconveniences about losing my cell phone, I’ll take them.  I’m just glad I don’t have to create a Facebook group.

