The mind is a strange thing.  My mind is even stranger.  I am often amazed and confused as what my mind chooses to remember and what it chooses to forget.  I’ve always prided myself on having an excellent memory, however, often times my stellar memory is not for important useful things (like important dates in history, Scripture or the periodic table of elements) but for completely random, pointless and worthless information.    My latest example of my propensity for insignificant ‘knowledge’ occurred this past weekend.

  

On Sunday while trying to figure out a grocery list for the week I was flipping channels and came across a great movie from my childhood on PBS: The Princess Bride.  (Why it was on PBS I have no clue–but it was great because there were no commercials thanks to support from viewers like you.)  Now, I watched this movie a lot growing up.  In fact I watched a lot of movies a lot growing up.  That may sound like a typo, but what I mean is I had a set group of movies that I liked and instead of introducing new ones into the mix I just watched the same ones over and over and over again.  I still do that.  I’d usually prefer to watch a movie I know and love over 97% of new movies.  This drives my husband crazy. 

 

Anyways, The Princess Bride was one of the movies on my A-list growing up.  However I have not watched any part of it in probably close to ten years.  Yet, almost instantly the large section of my brain that stores all this useless data kicked into gear and I started quoting every.single.word.  I’m not saying I knew the main lines or could say the gist of them.  I knew every syllable, pause, and every inflection spoken by Westley and Buttercup.  It was amazingly scary and my husband was quite impressed. 

 

I started to think about the other movies from my childhood hidden away in my brain that I can quote in their entirety.  They include:

 The Parent Trap (The original, not the cheesy Lindsay Lohan remake)

 

Rocky III & IV (I can even phonetically speak Russian in Rocky IV)

 

The Karate Kid (only the first one, I don’t even think I saw the others)

 

Home Alone (for me this wasn’t just a Christmas movie)

 

The King and I (The only part I wasn’t good at was the whistling.  I’m still not good at whistling a happy tune.)

 

Annie (My unofficial babysitter when I was little.  I’m told Annie kept me entertained for a few hours, and therefore I watched it every day.) 

 

Pollyanna (I’m pretty sure my parents taped the Hayley Mills marathon on Disney channel in the early 80’s because one tape had this, Parent Trap and That Darn Cat on it)

 

-Disney animated classics (including Cinderella, Bambi, Peter Pan, 101 Dalmatians, Sword in the Stone, The Jungle Book, The Little Mermaid, The Rescuers Down Under, Aladdin, and Beauty and the Beast among others)

 

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (I think my love for this movie was part of the reason I was so disappointed in the 4th one.  That or the fact that it was about aliens.)

 

-The Back to the Future trilogy (I still like to watch these over and over again)

 

The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe (The old school animated version.  I just got this on DVD!)

 

Newsies (Perhaps the greatest movie in a young girl’s life.  Cute boys + singing + dancing = awesomeness)

 

The Wizard of Oz (I had a friend in Kentucky when I was little and every time I spent the night (at least 8 times) her dad would rent this.  Every time.  I think they were in a bigger movie rut than me.)

 

A Christmas Story (Another year round holiday favorite of mine.  At times my sisters accused me of being as whiny as Randy.)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit? (For some reason I really liked this movie.  Maybe it was Baby Herman.) 

 

Looking back on this list I realize I watched a lot of movies.  A lot.  During the summers when I was little, my sister Jennifer and I’s routine consisted of waking up, putting our bathing suits on, swimming all day, coming in for dinner and then watching movies till we went to bed.  On rainy days we might start start our film screening a little early or mix it up with a little Mario 3 or Bubble Bobble playing on our old school Nintendo.  It’s these long, lazy, wonderful childhood summers that I can thank for my vast cannon of movies stored in my brain.  Those times where the biggest decisions of the day were which bathing suit to wear and which tape to put in the VCR.  No stress, no schedules, and no worries. They were perfect.

 

I think part of the reason I like watching these movies over and over is because it takes me back to that time and helps me relive my childhood.  It makes me happy and reminds me of those carefree days.  For this reason I’ll glady accept the pointless knowledge I have instead of wishing I could recall all members of the Continental Congress or the 6 steps of mitosis.  Who needs to know that anyway?             

 

 

 

